Unfold CFO Tools

CECL on trade receivables

For a company that is not a bank. Built around ASU 2025-05 — issued July 2025, optional, and the half of it you get depends on whether you are a public business entity.

🔒 Your numbers stay in your browser. We never store your raw financials unless you explicitly save them.
Start here

Are you a public business entity?

ASU 2025-05 has two provisions. One goes to all entities. The other goes only to entities that are not public business entities — and because the ASU came out of the Private Company Council, most commentary on it describes both together.

What is in scope

Both balances, not just the ledger you look at

Do you have trade receivables?
Do you have contract assets — revenue recognised before you have an unconditional right to payment?
Milestone work, over-time recognition, anything invoiced in arrears of performance. In scope, and the balance most often left without an allowance.
Is an allowance recognised against the contract assets as well?
Are these balances current rather than long-dated?
Your method

Where a non-bank allowance usually falls down

Is the allowance nil?
Is the expectation of zero credit losses documented and supported?
Zero is a permitted answer. 'We have never had a bad debt' is not the support for it.
Is a reasonable and supportable forecast documented, with a stated point where forecasting stops?
Are receivables pooled by shared risk characteristics?
Customer type, geography, terms, industry — whichever actually drives your losses.
Are balances that no longer share the pool's characteristics taken out and assessed individually?
ASU 2025-05

Have you taken either provision?

Have you adopted the practical expedient to assume current conditions do not change for the remaining life of the assets?
Available to all entities. This is the one that removes the forecast work.
Have you elected to consider collection activity after the balance sheet date?
Available only to entities that are NOT public business entities.

The ASU conclusions are quoted from fasb.org. The text of ASC 326 sits behind a login this tool does not pass, so everything resting on it is named rather than quoted and says so on screen.

One standard, two provisions, and only one of them is yours

In July 2025 FASB issued ASU 2025-05, which does more to make CECL workable for a company whose only credit exposure is trade receivables than anything since the standard arrived. It is optional, and it does two things. It lets an entity assume that current conditions as of the balance sheet date do not change for the remaining life of the assets — which removes the reasonable and supportable forecast, the part that costs the most and produces the least defensible output for a portfolio of current receivables. And it lets an entity consider collection activity after the balance sheet date, which ends the strange exercise of provisioning against invoices that were paid weeks before the accounts were signed.

The first of those is given to all entities. The second is given only to entities that are not public business entities. That distinction is easy to miss and expensive to miss, because the ASU was initiated by the Private Company Council and nearly everything written about it addresses a private company audience and describes both provisions in the same paragraph. A public company reading that summary will conclude, reasonably, that both are available. Only one is.

Underneath the new relief, the older surprise remains. CECL reaches ordinary trade receivables. It arrived as a banking reform, it is still discussed as one, and it has no size or industry threshold. Because it is an expected loss model rather than an incurred loss model, an allowance can be required against a receivable that is current, from a customer who has never missed a payment, invoiced last week. Zero remains a permitted conclusion — but it is a conclusion that has to be supported and re-reached, and “we have never had a bad debt” is a historical statement standing where a forward-looking expectation should be.

The balance that goes missing is contract assets. Revenue recognised before there is an unconditional right to payment is in scope for expected credit losses, and the fact that the new ASU names accounts receivable and contract assets together says where FASB expects the gap to be. The reason it is a gap is not technical. It is that contract assets do not appear in the receivables ledger, the credit team never sees them, and nobody has been told they own the estimate.

What this tool does not do

Two different confidence levels here, and the screen labels every finding with which one applies. The ASU 2025-05 conclusions were fetched from fasb.org and are quoted. Everything resting on ASC 326 is NAMED rather than quoted, because the Codification text sits behind a login this tool does not pass - it invents no paragraph references and you should check those points against the Codification before anything depends on them. It also does not state the effective date or transition provisions of ASU 2025-05, because the ASU document is behind a click-through it did not pass and a wrong effective date is worse than none.

  • The effective date and transition provisions of ASU 2025-05 - not obtained, take them from the ASU
  • The text of ASC 326, which is behind a FASB login; requirements attributed to it are named, not quoted
  • Calculating your allowance, choosing a loss rate, or building the aging schedule
  • Loans, notes receivable, held-to-maturity debt securities, available-for-sale debt securities, net investments in leases and off-balance-sheet credit exposures - all in Topic 326, none covered here
  • Whether you are a public business entity, which is a definitional question with consequences well beyond this tool
  • The disclosure requirements, including credit quality indicators and the roll-forward of the allowance
  • Purchased financial assets with credit deterioration, and the collateral-dependent practical expedient
  • Whether your revenue recognition under Topic 606 is right in the first place, which decides what the contract asset even is

Frequently asked questions

What changed in July 2025?

FASB issued ASU 2025-05, Financial Instruments—Credit Losses (Topic 326): Measurement of Credit Losses for Accounts Receivable and Contract Assets. It is optional, it came out of the Private Company Council, and it addresses the two things that made CECL disproportionately expensive for companies whose only exposure is trade receivables: the cost of building a reasonable and supportable forecast, and the effort of provisioning against balances that were collected before the financial statements were available to be issued.

Can we use both provisions of ASU 2025-05?

That depends on one thing, and it is the most important question on this page. The practical expedient — assume current conditions as of the balance sheet date do not change for the remaining life of the assets — is given to all entities. The accounting policy election to consider collection activity after the balance sheet date is given to entities other than public business entities. Because the ASU came from the Private Company Council, most commentary on it describes both together, and a public company reading that will reasonably assume both apply. One does not.

Does CECL really apply to ordinary trade receivables?

Yes. It arrived as a banking reform and is still discussed as one, but the model has no size or industry threshold. It is an expected loss model rather than an incurred loss one, so the question is not whether a loss has been incurred but what losses are expected over the life of the asset — which means an allowance can be required against receivables that are current, from customers who have never missed a payment.

Our customers always pay. Can the allowance be nil?

Zero is a permitted conclusion. It is not a permitted assumption. An expectation of no credit losses has to be supported and re-reached each period — and 'we have never had a bad debt' is a historical statement being offered in place of a forward-looking expectation, which is the exact reasoning the standard replaced. It is also the sentence most likely to be in the file when somebody asks how the nil allowance was supported.

What about unbilled revenue?

Contract assets — revenue recognised before you have an unconditional right to payment — are in scope, and the fact that ASU 2025-05 addresses accounts receivable and contract assets together tells you where FASB expects them to be found. They get missed for a structural reason: they are not in the receivables ledger, the credit team never sees them, and the person who owns revenue recognition is not the person who owns the allowance.

Why does the tool say 'text not read' on some findings?

Because it is true. ASC 326 sits in the FASB Codification behind a login this tool does not pass, so it names those requirements rather than reproducing paragraph text it has not seen, and it invents no paragraph references. The ASU 2025-05 conclusions are different — they are quoted from FASB's own announcement, which was fetched. For the same reason the tool does not state the ASU's effective date: that document is behind a click-through it did not pass, and a wrong effective date would be worse than none.